there’s still magic

Alli Rogers, one of my very favorite ‘underground’ Christian artists, is going on tour this December for the first time in about two years. It is a joint Christmas tour with Mark Schults and the band Downhere and I am for real excited.

I may have mentioned this before on this blog, but Alli Rogers’ music just speaks to me in such a way that I can’t explain. It’s like God speaks to me through her music and lyrics and that is why I’m looking forward to this once-in-a-lifetime concert. Here is one of the Christmas songs that she’ll probably be performing  next month and a good example of why I love her artistry so much:

“I know the holidays can feel
Far from anything that’s real
If the truth, it’s only in part
The story like a serenade,
The stable set up like stage
doesn’t even speak to your heart

I’ve been to the department stores
And from the ceiling to the floor
All red and green and silver and gold
Painted like a candy store
Charming us in through the door
As if hope were something to be sold

But I haven’t given up on the holiday just yet
Cause there’s something about the eve of a day that
Brings a surprise, and sparkles the eyes of children
There’s something about the lights up on the houses
Shining through snow and letting us know
Things are gonna be okay
Oh it’s almost Christmas day
Underneath the grand affair
I think there’s still magic there

There’s something about the birth of a baby
Two thousand years and still we are here believing
There’s something about the star up in the sky
Drawing us close, and letting us know
Things are gonna be okay

–There’s Still Magic, by Alli Rogers

Leave a comment